(Organized by ARCASIA | Commissioned under ACAE)

The Architects’ Regional Council Asia (ARCASIA) is a Council of the presidents of the National Institutes of Architects of twenty-one Asian countries that are members of ARCASIA. Every alternate year, Asian Congress of Architects (ACA) is hosted by one of the member countries of ARCASIA. The Architectural Society of China (ASC) was supposed to host the ACA 2020, which is postponed to 2021, due to unprecedented situation of Covid-19 Pandemic. The ARCASIA Thesis of the Year Awards 2020 is organized by ARCASIA, commissioned under ACAE (ARCASIA Committee for Architectural Education (ACAE) and coordinated by Assistant Professor Dr. Pechladda Pechpakdee (ASA) for initial years.

The objective of the ARCASIA Thesis of the Year 2020 (TOY ARCASIA 2020) is to provide an arena for the schools of architecture in ARCASIA member countries and their undergraduate students to display their potentials and fresh ideas in international platform provided by ARCASIA in order to heighten and elevate architecture education in Asia. TOY ARCASIA is dedicated to fresh ideas in Thesis from the final-year students in each country members. It opens a route to the knowledge exchange of architectural education.

The works are submitted by ARCASIA Member Institutes. Each institute must set up a procedure to select National Winners and submit 3 (three) national winners to TOY ARCASIA Committee for the final judging (by TOY ARCASIA Judging Committee). The work must be a completed thesis of the fifth or final-year student in an undergraduate professional-degree program. Students cannot submit their work directly to TOY ARCASIA.

1. JPG files of ONE A1 (594mm x 840mm) Portrait format layout image consists of:
* Thesis title and location address
* Thesis brief data
* Thesis design concept and description
* Drawing and presentation
2. PDF file of text, identifying the submitting ARCASIA member institute, institute’s contact person and address, student’s name, name of department & university, postal address, email address & contact details.

* All submission materials shall be in English.
* This is an anonymous award selection. Anonymity should appear in all submission materials, except item 2 above.
* The participant making the submission must have legal rights and copyrights of all the submission materials.

No identification marks shall appear on the graphic layouts and the Design Statement. The participant(s) shall keep his/ her/their entry confidential and take necessary steps to ensure it is not disclosed to any third parties throughout the process until the public announcement of results.

Intellectual Property Rights belong to the author(s), but upon submitting an entry to the category, the participant declares, warrants, agrees and undertakes that the submission (Intellectual Property Rights inclusive) would be used for promotion/ publication of the event.

25th June 2020, Thursday Announcement of TOY ARCASIA Awards 2020.
31st August 2020, Monday National Submission (ARCASIA member institute).
15th October 2020, Thursday Submission of 03 Finalist from respective National Institutes of Architects to TOY ARCASIA Committee.
16th November 2020, Monday Announcement of Result
ACA 2021, Shanghai Winners declaration and Awards Ceremony

The Jury Panel Members will comprise (07 members), as follows:
• ACAE Immediate Past Chairman (Head Juror) Ar Nuno Soares (AAM)
• ACAE Chairman Ar Gyanendra Singh Shekhawat (IIA)
• ARCASIA Students Architectural Design Competition 2020 – Convener Ar Adrianta Aziz (PAM)
• ARCASIA President’s Nominee Ar George Kunihiro (JIA)
• Representative from Zone A
Ar Khadija Jamal Shaban (IAP)
• Representative from Zone B
Ar Ahmad Saifudin Mutaqui (IAI)
• Representative from Zone C
Ar Inbum Kim (KIRA)

All the entries must be the final-year project and the jury will judge those works according to the following criteria:
● Concept
● Spatial integration
The design should respond and be sensitive to its context and also the way users interact with the space. Although the floors are separated, the design should present some form of integration—how it benefits or impacts the building and its users should be in place. This could be pursued by means of the building form and function or any criteria already set here. There should be an integration of access and circulation in the scheme. An overall sense of place needs to be established to give the neighborhood space a unique character, enhance the walking environment, and create satisfaction in individual and whole space integration.
● Goal
● Form
The jury will consider how the project’s form reveal the project’s goal through its materiality, shape, detailing, etc. The project’s form should have a clear stance on its relationship to its surroundings, its users, and the public at large. It is not enough to be beautiful, and the form need not be cutting-edge or trendy, but rather of high quality, and is appropriate and relevant for its users and the message it is supporting. The project should demonstrate design excellence and quality, that it should fit its purpose and that it should be sustainable. There should also be harmony between the proposed interior designs and the building itself.
● Functionality of the design
Function refers to achieving the goal which is set by the applicant. This is frequently a complex and diversity of requirements that can range from the simple living space to the complicated social interactions. The jury will refer to the project’s description to understand which functional criteria was the primary concern.
Good functionality means the project works well for the intended use, including for its users, that occupy the project, and the public that encounters it.
● Innovation and originality of the design solution
This is one of the key components of architectural design to embrace new technologies and countenances shifting social and demographic trends with curiosity. Projects that take a fresh approach, work to improve existing practices, and push the boundaries or perceptions in the field are innovative projects.

There will be up to three winners to be awarded as:
1) Gold Award for the work that receives highest merit by majority of the judges, or receives the highest total score from all judges.
2) Silver Award for the work that receives the second highest merit by all judges, or receives the second highest total score from all judges.
3) Bronze Award for the work that receives the third highest merit by all judges, or receives the third highest total score from all judges.

The organizer is entitled to display or exhibit on any date and in any venue the entries or any part thereof, and publish including the report of the category events together with any selected entries.

All entries shall be in English.

All entries shall proceed via email to TOY ARCASIA 2020 Committee at
For enquiry, contact TOY ARCASIA Awards Coordinator Assistant Professor Dr. Pechladda Pechpakdee (ASA – The Association of Siamese Architects under Royal Patronage) at or
Please follow ACAE Social Media Handles for latest information and updates regarding the TOY 2020. Refer the links provided below:
ACAE Facebook :
ACAE Instagram :

Poster TOYARCASIA 2020

TOY ARCASIA 2020 – Announcement Manual